Sunday, January 13, 2008

Kao Cantabile....

Moody...moody of all things...I'm at work relaxing a little bit, talking every now and then...I actually should feel better after talking to my boss (finally I had it out), but I kept on wondering what to do with the free time..later on I'll be sweating out with all the freaky *no need to discuss here* so I should be taking this opportunity...but what am I doing? I'm tensing up waiting for freaky *no need to discuss here*...whaddahell...so to feel productive I must write something that would make sense or might make sense...something I know and want others to know (hey...haven't you noticed something that I put words too much? like an overly long intro to a speaker...that's how boring I write...)

Anyway, let's talk about my current collection, NODAME CANTABILE.

I never spent much on any manga-anime related series before than what I did with this series. Nodame might look like a 2nd-class manga and/or anime compared to any work by Ai Yazawa or CLAMP (also my favorites) or whoever...but the story is catchy. It's like a pop song--Britney Spears--you really wouldn't like her songs in your playlist but since "Gimme More" tunes in to your earworm every morning, you include it anyway--but mind you Tomoko Ninomiya won an award for it!

So I have all the English-translated tankoubon (still waiting for the 11th volume) and the anime, and the DORAMA, and I still can't get over Tamaki Hiroshi...so what do I really want to talk about? Perhaps to brag my collection...but no...I wish I'm not tone-deaf...it would be lovely if I could easily learn how to play the guitar and write a manga about music like My Chemical Romance (who btw is having a concert here in Taguig on the 25th...*boo-hoo* I have work) or write lyrics...

Basically. nothing should be impossible...it just so happen that I grew up with no specialization--I aimed to be good at almost everything and then I found myself inclined with the arts but too late...I have gone past my formative years way too long and things seem kinda hard...I didn't grow up in a household where parents encourage you to do what you like...let you write on walls on color your hair or watch anime...(I've had arguments before regarding this)...well, it's no time to blame my parents (I'm too old to rant like this)...if there's anything or anyone to blame it's the society...this country tends to eat every kid's dream during formative years...

Anyway, this all concludes to the fact that I shouldn't give up (I've learned that lesson many2x times), it's never too late...however, I still need to learn what I want...One thing admirable about Ninomiya-sensei's work is that she is consistent...it seems that (and so she claims) there are real-life Nodame and Chiaki posing for her whenever she makes a chapter of manga because the characters live up to their personalities...whereas I, after all this time, remains lacking in personal style...


Those who suffer are those who don't know what they want...

No comments: